top of page
Search

EverSewn Maker Team: August

August.

Project 2 for the EverSewn Maker Team.

The theme: Sew Cool - beating the summer heat!


Oh my goodness I had such a fun time thinking of something to make for this theme!

Right off, I knew I wanted to make some sort of garment. Then I decided, instead of making a dress, I wanted separates so I could wear the pieces multiple ways.

I searched high and low and eventually found the perfect patterns on Etsy! Both pieces are by Thepatternsroom. I used Lucy for the shirt and made the shorts version of the Margi pants.


The shorts are perfect because they are so comfy with the elasticized paper bag waist and wide legs. Bonus points, they even have pockets! I’m sure I will be making more!


I really like the shirt because instead of a traditional collar, it features a notched collar. So much easier to sew!

I did modify the pattern a bit by doing a centered inverted box pleat instead of the two side pleats on the back, and I did reduce the pattern so it wouldn’t be as oversized. Next time I make this shirt, I’ll use a drapey fabric and not reduce the fullness.



To top off my vision, I found the most PERFECT fabric at fabric.com

For those that don’t know (or couldn’t guess from this post), I LOVE color and bright, bold, fun prints.

Not only did the fabric I found satisfy my craving for a fun and colorful print, but it fit the theme perfectly!

It is Sweet Tooth Popsicles designed by Mary Lake-Thompson for Robert Kaufman.


The art on this fabric is so detailed, and just looking at these popsicles makes my mouth water!

Not to mention, it is sooo soft!

Can’t wait to start rocking my pieces in this hot Florida summer!


So, until next time!

Don’t forget to live life colorfully and creatively!




0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page